Office of Student Life

Stephanie Grissett, MA, LPCC-S

Therapeutic Style:

I believe that a strong and genuine relationship between a client and therapist is powerful, and it is important to me to understand my clients’ personal values and to honor those as we incorporate those values into therapy. I want to be as collaborative with my clients as possible and to work with them as a team toward accomplishing their therapeutic goals. I gravitate toward an Interpersonal Process in Therapy (IPT) and enjoy helping clients build insights into their thoughts and behaviors so that they can plan ways to make concrete changes and use their strengths. I am also trained in EMDR and sample parts of CBT, DBT, and Motivational Interviewing. I believe that wellness is important to mental health and also incorporate those principles into therapy.

Supervision Style: 

I think supervision should help supervisees find confidence in the unique skills that they bring to their work as a therapist. I want to support supervisees as they discover and refine ways to effectively support and care for clients while also being their authentic selves.

Professional Interests:

My professional interests include working with new Americans, first generation Americans, and first-generation college students. I am particularly interested in mental health stigma reduction, especially in communities of color. Much of my research has been geared toward supporting people who identify as Black women.

Groups and Liaison Roles:

I will be facilitating the BIPOC Graduate Group as well as Let’s Talk. I also coordinate the Drop-in Workshop program and facilitate the Letting Go of Perfectionism workshop.

Educational Background:

I earned a Bachelor of Human Services with minors in Psychology and Global Public Health from Geneva College and a Master’s in Clinical Mental Health Counseling from The Ohio State University. I completed my practicum at Columbus Springs East. I completed my internship at OSU’s CCS as week as a post-grad clinical fellowship before beginning this role as a senior staff member.

Personal Interests:

 I grew up in Boston, and the ocean is still my favorite place. I had the opportunity to live outside the US for two years before coming to OSU, and travel is one of the ways that I like to learn more about the world and about the experiences of people who are different than me. I love trying to cook foods from the places I visit! I’ve recently been stand up paddle boarding, reading young adult fiction, and crafting a lot. I enjoy trying new things, so my interests are always evolving.

My Pronouns:

She/Her/Hers